32.8 C

India vs Australia: Indian pacers run riot in Day 1 of 2nd practice test match

A stony Indian seam attack led by Jasprit Bumrah and Mohd. Shami fazed the Australia A on day one of the three-day practice test match tour game in Sydney.

The visitors won the toss and elected to bat first. It is a practice match for the first Test to be played in Adelaide from December 17. The day-night game in Sydney will help the players to get acclimatize with conditions during India’s first-ever overseas day-night Test.

Bumrah’s maiden first-class fifty took India to a decent run chase of 194. The hosts were even bowled out for 108 as Shami (3/29), Bumrah (2/33), and Saini (3/19) bowled a terrific spell.

aus a vs ind a rahane pujara amongst runs on day 1 of practice match xl India vs Australia: Indian pacers run riot in Day 1 of 2nd practice test match
Source- CricketNmore

Jasprit Bumrah struck early as he removed Burns with his terrific spells. Mohammed Shami bowled a beautiful spell with the pink ball and still, there was some movement off the surface. Mohammed Shami was at his best as he struck and removed Harris and McDermott in one over to put India ahead and there was a hint of swing, aided by some movement. Siraj also picked a wicket to leave the host five down. Navdeep Saini also picked wickets to put India firmly on top and ahead of their opposition, Australia.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Jasprit Bumrah hit a half-century which is also his highest first-class score and also team India’s highest individual score by any player on day 1. The partnership was of 71 along with Mohammed Siraj, who has played a fine hand along with Bumrah.

Also, Rohit Sharma passed his fitness test at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru on Friday and will leave for Australia early next week and will join the team for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy which is scheduled to start with the day-night Test in Adelaide on December 17. Rohit has already been ruled out of the first two Tests because of the 14-day quarantine rule in Australia.

India: Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant(w), Wriddhiman Saha, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Australia A: Joe Burns, Marcus Harris, Nic Maddinson, Ben McDermott, Cameron Green, Jack Wildermuth, Alex Carey(w/c), Sean Abbott, Will Sutherland, Mitchell Swepson, Harry Conway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Related Stories

More from author

England most likely to make a formal complaint about the pitch in the Narendra Modi Stadium

England is contemplating making a formal complaint against the Ahmedabad pitch. As per the reports according to Daily Mail, England skipper Joe Root and...

Schalke sack their numerous sporting officials as they currently face a crisis

Bundesliga's club Schalke, who is in a crisis, has sacked almost their entire sporting team on Sunday, which includes coach Christian Gross after a purported player...

Chris Gayle makes a return to the West Indies cricket team at the age of 41 after an 18-month absence

Chris Gayle made a return to the West Indies cricket team after coach Phil Simmons included Gayle in his squad for the upcoming T20I...

BCCI shortlists Chennai, Kolkata, Ahmedabad, Bangalore, and Delhi as venues for IPL 2021

If the situation goes well, the IPL 2021, the 14th edition of the mega tournament, may happen in India as BCCI has also shortlisted...