Sunday, May 29, 2022

IPL: Here are the list of Players who quit captaincy in the middle of a season

- Advertisement -

Recently, Ravindra Jadeja handed over his captaincy to MS Dhoni which made huge headlines. He isn’t the first skipper who did this, before him a lot of skippers quit their position. In this article let us have a look at those skippers who took this decision in the middle of the season.

2008: VVS Laxman – Adam Gilchrist

972275 vvs laxman and adam gilchrist
Credits- DNA India

Hyderabad’s old franchise, the Deccan Chargers lost 12 out of 14 games in that season despite having a solid group of players. VVS Laxman was the icon player for them at that time but things didn’t turn out as expected. The management replaced him with Australian southpaw Adam Gilchrist in the middle of the season. The team won the IPL title in the next season under his captaincy.

2009: Kevin Pietersen – Anil Kumble

kevinpietersenrcb2 630
Credits- News18

RCB bought  Kevin Pietersen ahead of the 2009 IPL season for INR 1.55 million and made him the skipper of the team. RCB lost four of the first five games under the leadership of Pietersen and that’s when team owner of RCB then Vijay Mallya replaced him with Anil Kumble. The franchise won 8 out of 10 matches under his leadership but lost in the finale to Deccan Chargers.

2012: Daniel Vettori – Virat Kohli

cl kohli 2012
Credits- Cricket Country

In 2012, RCB won just two games of their first five and Virat Kohli was named the captain of the franchise in the middle of the season replacing Daniel Vettori. The team did partially well under him in the rest of the matches and finally, in 2013 he became the full-time skipper of the franchise. He continued to lead the team for 8 more years and finally, in 2021 he stepped down as a captain.

2012: Kumar Sangakkara – Cameron White

Cameron White Player of the match for his 78 runs blast
Credits- Cricket Dawn

In IPL 2012, under Kumar Sangakara, Deccan Chargers lost 5 games in a row. Sangakara left the team and that’s when Cameron White was made the skipper of the franchise. There wasn’t any positive results as they went on to lose five out of their next eight games. It was the last season of Deccan Chargers after which the team got dissolved.

2013: Ricky Ponting – Rohit Sharma

Credits- Republic World
- Advertisement -

Ricky Ponting was made MI’s captain in the 2013 season but things did not go smooth as MI lost four of their first five games of the season. Ricky Ponting stepped down and Rohit Sharma was made the skipper. With Rohit leading the team, MI managed to lift its first IPL trophy in 2013.

2013: Angelo Mathews – Aaron Finch

Credits- ESPNcricinfo

In 2013 the Pune Warriors team had a poor start, they won just a single match in their first five games. Angelo Mathews was the skipper. After repeated losses, Mathews decided to step down and the Pune management named Aaron Finch as their new captain. In that year, Pune Franchise won just 16 league matches and finished in 8th place in the points table.

2014: Shikhar Dhawan – Darren Sammy

download 1 1
Credits- Cricfit

Shikhar Dhawan was named as the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad for IPL 2014. In IPL 2014, SRH won two games out of their first four, and Dhawan’s batting performance dropped. Darren Sammy was appointed as the new skipper of the team. However, the result did not go as expected since the Hyderabad-based franchise could not qualify for the playoffs that season. In 2016, David Warner was appointed as the skipper and SRH lifted the trophy for the first time.

2015: Shane Watson – Steve Smith

download 2

In 2015, Rajasthan Royals were doing decently well but Shane Watson, who was the skipper desired to focus on his skipper and wanted to focus more on his skills, which made him drop the captaincy tag. Steve Smith was the new captain of RR and he took the franchise to the playoffs. Smith did serve the franchise as a skipper for a long time.

2016: David Miller – Murali Vijay

captain 1462015534
Credits- IndiaTV News

Punjab Kings started off with a pathetic performance in 2016, and the captain David Miller was also not in good form. The team management decided to replace him with Murali Vijay, who had a better batting performance. But, things didn’t go as expected as they finished at the bottom of the table.

2018: Gautam Gambhir – Shreyas Iyer

675747 gautam gambhir l and shreyas iyer afp
Credits- DNA India

In 2018, Delhi won only one game out of their first six under Gambhir’s captaincy and he decided to step down as the captain. Shreyas Iyer was named the skipper of Delhi in the middle of the season. Under him, Delhi won four out of eight games. They didn’t qualify for the finals but Iyer was the captain for two more seasons.

2019: Ajinkya Rahane – Steve Smith

665067 ajinkya rahane steve smith twitter
Credits- DNA India

In IPL 2018, RR lost the first six out of eight under Rahane and he left the position. RR named Steve Smith the captain of the Jaipur-based franchise but there weren’t any positive results as RR finished at the second last position in the points table.

2020: Dinesh Karthik – Eoin Morgan

download 3 1
Credits- The Quint

KKR were doing well in 2020 but he decided to step down as the captain and soon World Cup-winning captain Eion Morgan was the best choice. KKR’s performance was average in the season as they ended in the fifth season. Morgan’s captaincy had a good influence as KKR reached the finals in 2021 but lost to CSK.

2021: David Warner – Kane Williamson

David Warner Kane Williamso

In IPL 2021, SRH was not performing poorly, having won only a single game out of their first seven matches. The management changed the leadership to Kane Williamson but not affect the result as SRH finished the season at the bottom of the table. In 2022, Kane Williamson continued as a skipper and David Warner was bought by Delhi Capitals.

2022: Ravindra Jadeja – MS Dhoni

download 4 2
Credits- Cricket Addictor

CSK management made Ravindra Jadeja the captain but the team couldn’t fair well. For this reason, CSK handed MS Dhoni back the role of leadership. Under Dhoni’s leadership, CSK did win one match and they have to win all the next league matches to qualify for the playoffs.

Read more: Top 10 most valuable cricket teams of IPL

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider

Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics


Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.