32.8 C

Top 5 batsman with the fastest century in IPL history

Fastest century in IPL history – Know Everything

Batters are the most significant asset of an IPL. The skills of a batter that makes him score a century help to maximise the winning chances of a team. Smashing a hundred faster escalates the probability of making the team win even more and the lesser number of balls they take, the faster the team scores.

So, in T20 and in a competition like IPL, a fast century is a big deal and players achieving it are assets for such teams. Legends like Chris Gayle, and AB de Villiers have revolutionized how the game is played, and made an impact of scoring the fastest century in IPL, so, let’s discuss such memorable centuries which have made IPL what it is today.

Let’s have a look at the fastest century in IPL history:

1Chris Gayle30RCB vs PWIBangalore23rd April 2013
2Yusuf Pathan37RR vs MIMumbai13th March 2010
3David Miller38KXIP vs RCBMohali6th May 2013
4Travis Head39RCB vs SRHBangalore15th April 2024
5Adam Gilchrist42DC vs MIMumbai27th April 2008

1. Chris Gayle – 30 balls

image 194 Top 5 batsman with the fastest century in IPL history
Chris Gayle; Credits- RCB

Chris Gayle smashed the fastest hundred in IPL history in just 30 balls. In an IPL 2013 game against Pune Warriors, Gayle scored 175 runs off 66 balls. Gayle hit 17 sixes and 13 fours in his innings. RCB had posted a huge total of 263/5 in 20 overs with the help of Gayle’s century.

Hailed as the champion of T20, this inning is still memorable and is the fastest century in IPL history ever to date!

2. Yusuf Pathan – 37 balls

image 195 Top 5 batsman with the fastest century in IPL history
Yusuf Pathan; Credits- Sportskeeeda

Yusuf Pathan is in the second spot in this record among the Indian players. He smacked a hundred in only 37 balls against Mumbai Indians in 2010, which was the fastest century at that time. Rajasthan mustered 208/7 in their 20 overs and got defeated by MI by 4 runs, Yusuf Pathan is well remembered still as one of the most devastating batsmen in IPL and this inning again is one of the fastest century in IPL history.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

3. David Miller – 38 balls

image 196 Top 5 batsman with the fastest century in IPL history
David Miller; Credits- The Indian Express

David Miller smashed a century in only 38 balls against RCB in IPL 2013. RCB had posted a target of 191 runs against Punjab and was about to win in the second innings as Punjab scored only 64/4 in 9.5 overs. Miller played his best to help Punjab win the game and change the entire destiny of the game.

4. Travis Head – 39 balls

download 1 Top 5 batsman with the fastest century in IPL history
Travis Head

Australian batsman Travis Head scored the fourth fastest century in IPL as he toyed with the RCB bowlers. He took just 39 balls to reach his century mark. He scored 84 of 100 runs in boundaries as his inning consisted of 9 fours and 8 sixes.

5. Adam Gilchrist – 42 balls

Adam Gilchrist Net Worth
BRIDGETOWN, BARBADOS – APRIL 28: Adam Gilchrist of Australia celebrates his century during the ICC Cricket World Cup Final between Australia and Sri Lanka at the Kensington Oval on April 28, 2007 in Bridgetown, Barbados. (Photo by Hamish Blair/Getty Images); Adam Gilchrist

Adam Gilchrist smashed a ton in just 42 balls in the inaugural season of IPL. Deccan Chargers chased 155 runs in 20 overs against Mumbai Indians and Gilchrist helped the team win the match in just 12 overs. Known for his valour and as a great wicketkeeper, who will forget this knock of the legend, still, one of the fastest centuries in IPL history.

6. AB de Villiers and David Warner – 43 balls

AB de Villiers and David Warner are at the joint fifth spot smashing a ton off 43 deliveries. AB de Villiers smacked 129 runs off 52 balls against Gujarat Lions in IPL 2016 including 12 sixes and 10 fours. David Warner, on the other hand, slammed 126 runs off only 59 balls including 10 fours and 8 sixes, helping SRH win the game by 48 runs against KKR. Both these T20 legends have their own fastest century in IPL history and are still remembered for their incredible knocks.

  1. Who has the fastest century in IPL history?

    Chris Gayle smashed the fastest century in IPL history in just 30 balls.

Read more:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Related Stories

More from author

IPL Auction: Check out the most expensive players in each edition of the IPL auctions in history

The IPL mega Auction has started taking place and the IPL auctions have attracted the eyeballs as several players seal million-dollar deals in the...

Top 10 Richest Cricket Boards in the World (May 2024)

Know the Top 10 Richest Cricket Boards in the World as of May 2024 Cricket is a widely adored sport globally, particularly in Asian countries...

Here’s the list of the cricket players who scored the First century in top T20 leagues around the world

Scoring a century in the T20 format is the most difficult of the three formats of cricket. The first century in the twenty overs...

IPL 2024: The Top 10 Most Expensive IPL Team Franchises

From IPL 2022, two new teams have been added to the Indian Premier League. Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans proved to be very...