Monday, February 6, 2023

Shafali Verma to lead India in U19 Women’s World Cup

The BCCI recently announced the squad of the U-19 World Cup for Women that’s ready to commence on January 14. 2023. Opener Shefali Verma is set to lead the team in this tournament who earlier made her international debut in 2019.

WIcket-keeper batter Richa Ghosh played 42 games for the senior squad and youngster Shweta Sherawat who earlier led the team against New Zealand got appointed as the vice-captain. In the recently concluded U19 Challenger Trophy, she was the leading run-scorer.

Shafali Verma to lead India in U19 Women’s World Cup

The Indian management hosted multiple domestic tournaments to give the players the right opportunity and a chance to get featured in the tournament in 2023. Cricketers like Soumya Tiwari, Sonam Yadav and many others got the chance to play for the country.


In the challenger Trophy, Soumya, the vice-captain of the New Zealand series was the fourth-highest run-getter of the challenger Trophy after mustering 107 runs. On the other hand, Sonam Yadav picked seven wickets in four games and became the highest wicket-taker of the tournament.

ICC U 19 Womens T20 World Cup 696x522 1 Shafali Verma to lead India in U19 Women's World Cup
Credits- khelTalk

It is to be noted that the selection committee chose Shikha Shalot as one of the stand by players. She was the third-highest run scorer of the Challenger Trophy. However, she hasn’t been performing well recently which compelled BCCI to take this decision. In the series against New Zealand, she could only muster 27 runs in three matches.

India, South Africa, the United Arab Emirates, and Scotland are members of Group D. In the Super Six phase, where teams are divided into two groups of six, the top three teams from each group advance. The top two teams from each group advance to the semi-final matches. India will face Scotland, South Africa, and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the group stage.

India U19 Squad for Women’s T20 World Cup: Shafali Verma (C), Shweta Sehrawat (VC), Richa Ghosh (WK), G Trisha, Soumya Tiwari, Sonia Mehdiya, Hurley Gala, Hrishita Basu (WK), Sonam Yadav, Mannat Kashyap, Archana Devi, Parshavi Chopra, Titas Sadhu, Falak Naz, Shabnam MD.

Read more: Embarrassing losses India had in 2022

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Bitdefender WW

Stay Connected


Hot Topics


Latest Articles