37.1 C

IPL 2023 – Sunrisers Hyderabad Preview: Full Squad, Strength, Weakness, Schedule and more

The Sunrisers Hyderabad is all set to take on the TATA IPL 2023, aiming to make a comeback after finishing eighth in the last two seasons. They have made some strategic purchases in the auction and are among the most consistent sides in IPL history, having reached the playoffs six times between 2013 and 2020.

Let’s take a look at the Sunrisers hyderabad history, current squad, strengths, weaknesses, form, and chances of winning this year’s IPL.


Sunrisers Hyderabad, the Hyderabad franchise, replaced the Deccan Chargers in the 2013 IPL season. They have one title to their name, the 2016 edition, which they won under David Warner’s captaincy. In 2018, they finished runners-up under Kane Williamson’s leadership. In the last two seasons, they finished eighth, failing to qualify for the playoffs.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Full Squad

The Sunrisers Hyderabad has made some strategic purchases in the auction, including Harry Brook, Glenn Phillips, Heinrich Klaasen, and Adil Rashid.

Full squad of Sunrisers Hyderabad :

  1. Brian Lara – Head Coach
  2. Abdul Samad – Batsman
  3. Umran Malik – Bowler
  4. Washington Sundar – All-Rounder
  5. Rahul Tripathi – Batsman
  6. Abhishek Sharma – All-Rounder
  7. Kartik Tyagi – Bowler
  8. T Natarajan – Bowler
  9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar – Bowler
  10. Aiden Markram (c) – Batsman
  11. Marco Jansen – Bowler
  12. Glenn Phillips – Batsman/Wicket-keeper
  13. Fazalhaq Farooqi – Bowler
  14. Harry Brook – Batsman
  15. Mayank Agarwal – Batsman
  16. Heinrich Klaasen – Wicket-keeper
  17. Adil Rashid – Bowler
  18. Mayank Markande – Bowler
  19. Vivrant Sharma – All-Rounder
  20. Samarth Vyas – All-Rounder
  21. Sanvir Singh – All-Rounder
  22. Upendra Singh Yadav – Wicket-keeper
  23. Mayank Dagar – Bowler
  24. Nitish Kumar Reddy – All-Rounder
  25. Akeal Hosein – Bowler
  26. Anmolpreet Singh – Batsman

Here is their strongest XI:

  • Abhishek Sharma
  • Mayank Agarwal
  • Rahul Tripathi
  • Aiden Markram (c)
  • Abdul Samad, Glenn Phillips (wk)
  • Washington Sundar, Adil Rashid
  • Bhuvneshwar Kumar
  • Marco Jansen
  • Umran Malik.


Sunrisers Hyderabad’s X-Factor players are Glenn Phillps and Abhishek Sharma. Glenn Phillips is a top finisher with an excellent average and strike rate. Abhishek Sharma is one of the cleanest strikers of the ball, and he can be an asset in the powerplay overs.


The Sunrisers Hyderabad’s strength lies in their Indian fast bowlers, including Umran Malik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, T Natarajan, and Kartik Tyagi. Their Indian batters, including Mayank Agarwal, Rahul Tripathi, Abhishek Sharma, and Washington Sundar, are looking solid too. The team has some solid middle-order options in Harry Brook, Glenn Phillips, and Heinrich Klaasen. They have variety in their pace department with the likes of Umran Malik, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Marco Jansen, and T Natarajan.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad


The Sunrisers Hyderabad is relying on inexperienced middle-order batters, including Harry Brook, Abdul Samad, Vivrant Sharma, and Heinrich Klaasen. They do not have an off-spinner, and they could have gone for other batters in the middle order.


Sunrisers Hyderabad are looking solid with the new acquisitions in the auction. The team has some promising players in their squad, and they have a good mix of experienced and young talent. However, some of their players, including Glenn Phillips and Washington Sundar, have struggled in recent times, and they will need to regain their form to perform well in the tournament.

Chance of Winning

Despite finishing eighth in the last two seasons, the Sunrisers Hyderabad is expected to make a comeback in TATA IPL 2023. With a solid squad and strategic purchases in the auction, they have all aspects covered. The team’s strengths lie in their Indian fast bowlers and solid middle-order options. If their X-Factor players, Glenn Phillips and Abhishek Sharma, perform well, they could be a strong contender for the title. The team is likely to finish in the top 4 and get the number 3 or number 4 spot.


The Sunrisers Hyderabad will play their first match against Rajasthan Royals in Hyderabad on April 2nd, 2023, and their last match against Mumbai Indians in Mumbai on May 21st, 2023.

Sunrisers Hyderabad schedule for IPL 2023 is as follows:

MatchDateOpponentVenueTime (IST)
1April 2Rajasthan RoyalsHyderabad3:30PM
2April 7Lucknow Super GiantsLucknow7:30PM
3April 9Punjab KingsHyderabad7:30PM
4April 14Kolkata Knight RidersKolkata7:30PM
5April 18Mumbai IndiansHyderabad7:30PM
6April 21Chennai Super KingsChennai7:30PM
7April 24Delhi CapitalsHyderabad7:30PM
8April 29Delhi CapitalsDelhi7:30PM
9May 4Kolkata Knight RidersHyderabad7:30PM
10May 7Rajasthan RoyalsJaipur7:30PM
11May 13Lucknow Super GiantsHyderabad3:30PM
12May 15Gujarat TitansAhmedabad7:30PM
13May 18Royal Challengers BangaloreHyderabad7:30PM
14May 21Mumbai IndiansMumbai3:30PM

The Sunrisers Hyderabad is a strong team with a good mix of talent and experience. They have made some strategic purchases in the auction, and their Indian core looks solid. With a variety of pace options and some promising middle-order options, they could be a strong contender for the title in TATA IPL 2023. However, they will need to address their weaknesses, including their inexperienced middle-order batters and lack of an off-spinner. If they can overcome these challenges, they have a good chance of finishing in the top 4 and making a comeback in the tournament.

Read more:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Related Stories

More from author

IPL 2024’s Breakout Stars: From Riyan Parag to Ankrish Raghuvanshi check out the youngsters

IPL 2024's Breakout Stars: In the exciting world of the Indian Premier League, new talents often shine bright, impressing fans with their amazing skills...

IPL 2024 Anthems: Here’s the official team anthem of each IPL team

IPL 2024 Anthems: The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 is around the corner, promising another season of electrifying cricket action. As fans gear up...

IPL 2024 Prize Money: How Much Money Do The IPL Winner Take Home?

IPL 2024 Prize Money: The Indian Premier League (IPL) isn't just about thrilling cricket; it's also about the eye-watering prize money that adds an...

One Run Wins in IPL: List of Matches where One Run Wins in IPL happened!

One Run Wins in IPL: The Indian Premier League (IPL) has earned its reputation as the ultimate cricketing spectacle, captivating audiences worldwide with its...