16.7 C

India vs South Africa 2nd ODI: India gets defeated again, South Africa takes a lead 2-0

South Africa again won a match against India in the 2nd ODI. The South African team had a 132-run opening partnership and a two 80-run partnership for the second and fourth wicket helped South Africa defeat India by seven wickets in the 2nd ODI.

India vs South Africa: Match Highlights

South Africa had made a very combative start to their chase of 288 runs in Paarl with the opener Quinton de Kock and Janneman Malan scoring 132-run opening stand. Both had crossed the 50s before Shardul Thakur took the wicket of de Kock. Malan and Bavuma had an 80-year stand for the second wicket. Bumrah and Chahal took quick wickets before the slog overs but Markram and van der Dussen had an 80-run stand for the fourth wicket. SA had beaten India by 7 wickets to win in the ODI series. Team India had started steadily with KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan had a 63-run opening stand before Shikhar Dhawan returned to the pavilion. Virat Kohli came in but he went for a duck. Pant and Rahul revived the game but soon three successive wickets went down. Shardul Thakur scored 40 runs remained unbeaten in the last overs and helped India finish with 287 for six. KL Rahul and Co. had suffered a 31-run defeat in the opening match.

That brings to the end of the second ODI between South Africa and India at Boland Park in Paarl. The Proteas outshined the visitors in all three departments and settled the series with just one game left.

It’s time for the Indian team to pull up their socks and make some good changes that will help them win the last game, held in Cape Town after two days.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad


South Africa (Playing XI): Quinton de Kock(w), Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma(c), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi

India (Playing XI): KL Rahul(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Venkatesh Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal

Read more: ICC Test Rankings: Australia beats India to become the No. 1 team in Test cricket


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Related Stories

More from author

Top 10 Richest Cricket Boards in the World in February 2024

Know the Top 10 Richest Cricket Boards in the World in February 2024 Cricket is a widely adored sport globally, particularly in Asian countries such...

IPL Auction: Check out the most expensive players in each edition of the IPL auctions in history

The IPL mega Auction has started taking place and the IPL auctions have attracted the eyeballs as several players seal million-dollar deals in the...

Top 10 active players with the most international centuries

A century is vital for any cricketer in his career. Generally, a ton is essential in any game format as it increases the total...

Top 10 Highest Score in ODI Cricket by a Player in History

The One Day International (ODI) format gives a great opportunity for the cricketers to score a lot of runs. Players like Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim...