ISL: Top 5 fastest goals in Indian Super League

The Indian Super League (ISL) started in 2014 with 8 teams. From the 2017-18 season, it became the top division league in India. Also, it was made a 10 team’s league. The excitement and competition of this league are still the same from the very first season, though the league has further been expanded to 11 teams.

Chennaiyin FC defeated Jamshedpur FC by 2-1 in a highly thrilling contest. This match had seen an Indian guy coming up top between all those talented foreigners in both teams. Anirudh Thapa became the first Indian to score in ISL this season and also made an entry in one of the fastest goal-scorers’ lists after he scored in the very first minute of the game on Tuesday.

In this article we will look at top 5 fastest goals in ISL history.

1. Jerry Mawihmingthanga – 23 seconds (Jamshedpur FC vs Kerala Blasters FC, 2018)

Jerry Mawhmingthanga of Jamshedpur FC and Eli Sabia of Chennaiyin FC in action during match 84 of the Hero Indian Super League 2018 ( ISL ) between Chennaiyin FC and Jamshedpur FC held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai, India on the 23rd February 2019 Photo by: Vipin Pawar /SPORTZPICS for ISL

Jerry Mawihmingthanga is the fastest goal scorer of ISL. The 23-year-old attacking midfielder found the net in just 23 seconds against Kerala Blasters FC in 2018. Former Indian striker Ashim Biswas shot was deflected and Jerry capitalized on that and scored the fastest goal of the ISL history.

2. Chris Dagnall – 29 seconds (North-East United FC vs Kerala Blasters FC, 2015)

- Advertisement -720x200

The Englishman made it to the list after scoring a goal at the 29th second against North-East United FC in 2015.

3. Mohammed Rafi – 48 seconds (FC Pune City vs Kerala Blasters FC, 2015)

Mohammed Rafi of Kerala Blasters FC celebrates a goal during the Final of the Indian Super League (ISL) season 3 between Kerala Blasters FC and Atletico de Kolkata held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi, India on the 18th December 2016. Photo by Vipin Pawar / ISL / SPORTZPICS

Another Kerala Blasters FC player on the list. He also joined the list in the same season as Chris Dagnall. He is in the 3rd position after scoring at the 48th second of the match.

4. Anirudh Thapa – 52 seconds (Jamshedpur FC vs Chennaiyin FC, 2020)

Anirudh Thapa is the newest addition to the list after Tuesday’s game against Jamshedpur FC.

Chennaiyin FC midfielder Rafael Crivellaro passed the ball to Esmael Goncalves after dispossessing Jitendra Singh. Esmael then found out an unmarked Anirudh Thapa with a lovely cut back into the box. Anirudh Thapa made no mistake to squish that into the net.

5. Wim Raymaekers – 53 seconds (Delhi Dynamos FC vs Chennaiyin FC, 2014)

Wim Raymaekers is also on the list. Interestingly he is the only defender on the list with a goal at the 53rd second of the game against Chennaiyin FC in the inaugural edition of ISL.

Rishab Chakladar
An ordinary person with some extraordinary ambition! Dream big with a 'Never Give Up' attitude. Music, Sports, and Gaming in life♥️

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Hot Topics


Latest Articles


All the upcoming Indian web series in January 2021

In this pandemic situation, digital media is the most powerful way for entertainment. As usual Indian web series has made a mark on this...

Samsung’s Exynos 2100 vs Apple’s A14 Bionic: Who wins?

The loyal customers of Samsung were quite happy a few days before when Samsung finally announced the arrival of the Exynos 2100. It is...

Games that you can still play with NVIDIA GT 710

Want to play games on your old rig? Do not have enough money? Here are the modern games that you can still play on...

Top 10 Best Smartphones under Rs. 11,000 in India

In this COVID-19 pandemic situation, most of the smartphone buyers are willing to buy a low mid-budget smartphone. So, due to the high demand...