35.6 C

Purple Cap in IPL 2023: Top 10 players with the most wickets in IPL 2023

Purple Cap in IPL 2023: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most popular and lucrative T20 league in the world. Every year, the league recognizes the top wicket-taker of the competition with the prestigious Purple Cap. The race is once again on for the coveted Purple Cap award in the IPL 2023.

IPL 2023 Teams and Owners

The IPL 2023 will feature ten teams. The franchises and their owners are as follows:

Chennai Super KingsIndia Cements
Delhi CapitalsGMR Group and JSW Group
Gujarat TitansAdani Group
Kolkata Knight RidersRed Chillies Entertainment and Mehta Group
Lucknow Super GiantsSanjiv Goenka Group
Mumbai IndiansReliance Industries
Punjab KingsMohit Burman, Ness Wadia, and Preity Zinta
Rajasthan RoyalsManoj Badale
Royal Challengers Bangalore United Spirits
Sunrisers HyderabadSun TV Network

Purple Cap in IPL 2023: Top 10 players with the most wickets in IPL 2023

Here are the top 10 players in the Purple Cap race in IPL 2023 after Qualifier 2 – MI vs GT.

1Mohammed ShamiGT281718.648.03
2Mohit SharmaGT271413.378.17
3Rashid KhanGT271720.448.24
4Piyush ChawlaMI221622.58.11
5Yuzvendra ChahalRR211420.578.18
6Tushar DeshpandeCSK211626.869.92
7Ravindra JadejaCSK201621.557.56
8Varun ChakravarthyKKR201421.458.15
9Mohammed SirajRCB191419.747.5
10Matheesha PathiranaCSK191219.538.01

Past Purple Cap holders

2008Sohail TanvirRajasthan Royals22
2009RP SinghDeccan Chargers23
2010Pragyan OjhaDeccan Chargers21
2011Lasith MalingaMumbai Indians28
2012Morne MorkelDelhi Daredevils25
2013Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings32
2014Mohit SharmaChennai Super Kings23
2015Dwayne BravoChennai Super Kings26
2016Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad23
2017Bhuvneshwar KumarSunrisers Hyderabad26
2018Andrew TyeKings XI Punjab24
2019Imran TahirChennai Super Kings26
2020Kagiso RabadaDelhi Capitals30
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore32
2022Yuzvendra ChahalRajasthan Royals27

The race for the Purple Cap in IPL 2023 is well underway and it will be exciting to see who emerges as the top wicket-taker at the end of the season. With some of the best bowlers in the world vying for the title, the competition promises to be fierce. While Yuzvendra Chahal is currently leading the race with eight wickets in three matches, there are several other players hot on his heels. Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel will be looking to add to their tally of two Purple Caps each and create history by becoming the first player to win the award three times.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Read more:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Related Stories

More from author

India vs USA – T20 World Cup 2024 : India Secures Spot in Super 8 with Thrilling 7 Wicket Victory Over USA

India vs USA - T20 World Cup 2024 : In an unprecedented face off at the 2024 T20 World Cup, cricket enthusiasts witnessed an...

Top 10 Most Valued IPL Franchises in 2024

Most Valued IPL Franchises in 2024: The Indian Premier League (IPL) isn't just a cricket tournament; it’s a global brand and a financial powerhouse....

TOP 5 Indian Footballers Who Played Football in Foreign Clubs

TOP 5 Indian Footballers Who Played Football in Foreign Clubs: Football is a game that is loved and followed by millions of people worldwide....

Achraf Hakimi’s UNO Reverse with Hiba Abouk: The Divorce Case that Shocked the Internet

Paris Saint-Germain and Morocco footballer Achraf Hakimi, made headlines when he filed for divorce from his actress wife, Hiba Abouk, following allegations of infidelity...