25.6 C

Santosh Trophy 2024: Where to watch, venue, groups and history

The 77th edition of the Santosh Trophy will begin on February 21, with the Inter-state tournament being played in Arunachal Pradesh. FIFA were supposed to feature in the title of the tournament, with Gianni Infantino personally visiting the country for the final. But, they have pulled out of the tournament for this edition, with a return next season looking more likely. 

12 teams from across the country will compete against one another as part of a group stage first. There will be two groups of six teams each, with teams qualifying for subsequent stages to play each other later on. 

Santosh Trophy 2024: Date, groups, fixtures and where to watch 


Group A

  • Arunachal Pradesh
  • Meghalaya
  • Goa 
  • Assam
  • Services
  • Kerala

Group B

  • Karnataka
  • Maharashtra
  • Delhi
  • Manipur
  • Mizoram
  • Railways 

Where to Watch 

Santosh Trophy 2023-24 will be broadcasted on SportsKPI. It can be watched live on G Sports and the FanCode app. The matches will also be broadcast on FIFA+, and all matches will also have the replay feature for free.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad
Golden Jubilee Stadium Santosh Trophy
Via X

All the matches of the final round of the Santosh Trophy 2023-24 will be played at the Golden Jubilee Stadium, Yupia.

History of the Santosh Trophy 

The Santosh Trophy, one of the oldest and most prestigious football tournaments in India, has a rich history dating back to its inception in 1941. Named after the late Maharaja Sir Manmatha Nath Roy Chowdhary of Santosh, then the president of the Indian Football Association, the tournament was established to promote football at the state level and provide a platform for local talent to showcase their skills.

Initially, the Santosh Trophy was contested exclusively by regional teams representing various states and territories across India. Over the years, the tournament’s format has evolved to accommodate changes in the Indian football landscape. Today, it features teams from states, union territories, and government institutions competing for the coveted trophy.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad
Santosh Trophy
Kerala celebrating after winning the Santosh Trophy 2021/22 (Image Credit: Twitter)

The tournament has witnessed some remarkable moments and memorable performances throughout its storied history. West Bengal, with its rich footballing tradition, has emerged as the most successful state in Santosh Trophy history, boasting the highest number of titles at 32. The team’s dominance is a testament to the state’s passion for the sport and its commitment to nurturing football talent.

Over time, the Santosh Trophy has undergone format changes to adapt to the evolving needs of Indian football. From its early years of knockout rounds, the tournament transitioned to a group stage format, followed by knockout rounds to determine the ultimate champion. This format allowed for more matches and increased opportunities for teams to showcase their abilities on the field.

The Santosh Trophy has also served as a platform for emerging talent to catch the eye of national selectors and earn opportunities to represent the Indian national team. Many players who have excelled in the tournament have gone on to enjoy successful careers at the highest levels of Indian football.

Beyond its sporting significance, the Santosh Trophy holds cultural importance, bringing together football enthusiasts from different regions and communities across India. The tournament’s rich history and tradition continue to inspire and unite football fans across the country, ensuring its enduring legacy in Indian football folklore.

  1. Is Santosh Trophy for free on FIFA+?

    Yes, it is.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Arsh Das
Arsh Das
A music enthusiast, also passionate about football and bringing you the latest in the sporting world every day.



Related Stories

More from author

ISL semifinal leg 1 results: Chhangte leads crazy injury time comeback for Mumbai City FC vs FC Goa

After one of the craziest comebacks in the history of the ISL, Mumbai City FC have the advantage in their semifinal tie against FC...

Hyderabad FC handed 2 transfer window ban for unpaid dues

Hyderabad FC have been handed a two-window ban by FIFA for unpaid dues to player Odei Onaindia. The club has been suffering immensely this...

UEFA approves 26-man squad size for Euro 2024

UEFA have approved the expansion of squad sizes to 26 players for the upcoming European Championships. The previous squad size for the tournament was...

Olivier Giroud signs for LAFC till 2025: End of an incredible European career

After initial reports in January, Olivier Giroud has now signed the contract with LAFC to join them at the end of the season. The...