36.7 C

India equal Australia’s record for most wins in a calendar year with 38 wins

After India defeated South Africa by 7 wickets on Tuesday, they equalled the most victories in a calendar year with the Australian team. Under Steve Waugh, the Aussies won 38 matches in 2003. The men in blue will be soon creating a new world record since they’re going to participate in the T20 World Cup.

The India team didn’t have a good start to the year as they lost five matches in a row against South Africa under Rohit Sharma‘s captaincy. Moving forward, the team won 2 tests, 12 ODIs, and 24 T20Is.

In 2003, under the leadership of Steve Waugh, Australia won 30 ODIs out of 38 and 8 Tests.

The Shikhar Dhawan-led team won the 3rd ODI against South Africa which was also the decider match. This is the first time India won the series against the Proteas since 2018. It also marks the first won T20 series at home against them.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Journey of team India in 2022 so far

tkehqfyriyjob0ef 1636368929 India equal Australia's record for most wins in a calendar year with 38 wins
Credits- Republic World

India had a poor start with two back-to-back Test losses to South Africa. After that, Rohit Sharma took the charge and one against West Indies and Sri Lanka. India won two matches against the Proteas to draw the series. Under Hardik Pandya’s leadership, the team defeated Ireland 2-0 in the T20 series. Again, under Rohit Sharma, India won both T20 and ODI series against England. In West Indies, the visitors blanked the team 3-0 in the ODI series.

On the other hand, India won the T20 series 4-1. Zimbabwe had the same fate as West Indies, got defeated 3-0. Fans had a lot of expectations from the Indian team in the Asia Cup but they couldn’t make a good impression. They made a Super-4 exit with a loss to Pakistan and Sri Lanka. In a home series against Australia and South Africa, India defeated both 2-1 in the T20 series. India has been led by seven captains in 2022 due to the rotational policy. Seven of them are Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, and Jasprit Bumrah.

Rohit Sharma and Co. will be looking forward to lifting the T20 World Cup in this year.

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Read more: Novak Djokovic defeats Stefanos Tsitsipas to win his 90th ATP Title


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.




Related Stories

More from author

Top 10 Highest Score in ODI Cricket by a Player in History

The One Day International (ODI) format gives a great opportunity for the cricketers to score a lot of runs. Players like Sachin Tendulkar, Wasim...

Top 10 active players with the most international centuries

A century is vital for any cricketer in his career. Generally, a ton is essential in any game format as it increases the total...

IPL Auction: Check out the most expensive players in each edition of the IPL auctions in history

The IPL mega Auction has started taking place and the IPL auctions have attracted the eyeballs as several players seal million-dollar deals in the...

Top 10 Richest Cricket Boards in the World (April 2024)

Know the Top 10 Richest Cricket Boards in the World in March 2024 Cricket is a widely adored sport globally, particularly in Asian countries such...