Friday, March 24, 2023
Tanishq [CPS] IN

Hugo Lloris on the verge of creating multiple records in the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 final

France will be playing their second consecutive World Cup final on Sunday, having won the tournament in 2018 beating Croatia, who finished third this time. Tottenham Hotspur goalkeeper, Hugo Lloris will be wearing the captain armband when Les Bleus takes on the field against Argentina in the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 final.

If France manages to beat Messi’s Argentina, Hugo Lloris would equal Brazilian goalkeeper Gilmar dos Santos (1958 and 1962), who is the only goalkeeper to win two World Cups by starting in the final. He will also become the first goalkeeper to win the World Cup twice as the captain.

Until now, only 4 goalkeepers have captained their side in a World Cup final.

  1. Gianpiero Combi (Italy – 1934)
  2. Dino Zoff (Italy – 1982)
  3. Iker Casillas (Spain – 2010)
  4. Hugo Lloris (France – 2018)

Hugo Lloris on the verge of creating multiple records in the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 final

Irrespective of France winning the World Cup, when Lloris would take the field on Sunday, he will surpass Germany’s Manuel Neuer (19) to become the most-capped goalkeeper in World Cup history with 20 appearances.

During France’s 2-1 victory over England in the quarter-finals, the 35-year-old goalkeeper overtook Lilian Thuram (142) as France’s most-capped player. He will have 145 appearances for France in the World Cup 2022 final since making his debut against Uruguay (0-0) under Raymond Domenech on 19th November 2008, when he was just 21 years old. During his time, under the France goal, he has conceded 117 goals and 63 clean sheets so far.

Here’s the list of goalkeepers who won the World Cup as starters

  • Enrique Ballesteros (Uruguay/1930)
  • Gianpiero Combi (Italy/1934)
  • Aldo Olivieri (Italy/1938)
  • Roque G. Maspoli (Uruguay/1950)
  • Toni Turek (Germany/1954)
  • Gilmar dos Santos (Brazil/1958)
  • Gilmar dos Santos (Brazil/1962)
  • Gordon Banks (England/1966)
  • Félix Miélli Venerando (Brazil/1970)
  • Sepp Maier (Germany/1974)
  • ‘Pato’ Fillol (Argentina/1978)
  • Dino Zoff (Italy/1982)
  • Nery Pumpido (Argentina/1986)
  • Bodo Illgner (Germany/1990)
  • Claudio Taffarel (Brazil/1994)
  • Fabien Barthez (France/1998)
  • Marcos (Brazil/2002)
  • Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/2006)
  • Iker Casillas (Spain/2010)
  • Manuel Neuer (Germany/2014)
  • Hugo Lloris (France/2018)


Read: FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 – Prize money revealed: Here’s how much each team will earn

Rahul Roy
Rahul Roy
I am a computer guy by profession and a sports fanatic by choice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Bitdefender WW

Stay Connected


Hot Topics

Swiggy web [CPS] IN

Latest Articles