35.6 C

Bayern Munich secure historic 10th straight Bundesliga title in Der Klassiker

Bayern Munich have achieved a historic tenth consecutive Bundesliga title, with a 3-1 win against their arch rivals Borussia Dortmund in Der Klassiker at Allianz Arena. The Bavarians are the first European side to win ten straight league titles, after being tied with Juventus for nine. 

Serge Gnabry, Robert Lewandowski and Jamal Musiala scored in the derby against Dortmund, while Emre Can pulled one back for the visitors from the penalty spot. But, Bayern eventually reached their season objective against their biggest domestic rivals. 

Their latest reign over the Bundesliga began with the 2012/13 title, earning it back from Jurgen Klopp’s Borussia Dortmund. And the Bavarians have held onto the shield ever since. Julian Nagelsmann won his first league title in his debut season with Bayern Munich, while Thomas Muller is the first player in history to win 11 Bundesliga titles. 

Bayern Munich win 10th consecutive Bundesliga title 

Die Roten were the favourites to win the league title at the start of the season, following the arrival of Nagelsmann. And now, they have achieved the historic feat with three games to go in the season. 

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

Having been eliminated from the Champions League and the DFB Pokal, there is nothing much for the team to play for. Their focus can now turn to the summer transfer window, with several contract renewals pending for first team players. 

Robert Lewandowski, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer and Serge Gnabry all have expiring contracts, and will need new deals to continue playing for the German giants next season. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Arsh Das
Arsh Das
A music enthusiast, also passionate about football and bringing you the latest in the sporting world every day.



Related Stories

More from author

ISL semifinal leg 1 results: Chhangte leads crazy injury time comeback for Mumbai City FC vs FC Goa

After one of the craziest comebacks in the history of the ISL, Mumbai City FC have the advantage in their semifinal tie against FC...

Hyderabad FC handed 2 transfer window ban for unpaid dues

Hyderabad FC have been handed a two-window ban by FIFA for unpaid dues to player Odei Onaindia. The club has been suffering immensely this...

UEFA approves 26-man squad size for Euro 2024

UEFA have approved the expansion of squad sizes to 26 players for the upcoming European Championships. The previous squad size for the tournament was...

Olivier Giroud signs for LAFC till 2025: End of an incredible European career

After initial reports in January, Olivier Giroud has now signed the contract with LAFC to join them at the end of the season. The...