Tuesday, November 30, 2021

India vs New Zealand Test series: Can India be the No. 1 Test team in the world by beating the Black Caps?

- Advertisement -

India is no more the no. 1 team in Test format but under Ajinkya Rahane‘s captaincy, the team will have an opportunity to have its place back with 1-0 or 2-0. The two-match series starts in Thursday in Kanpur.

India, right now is the second best team according to ICC Test rankings. The team has 119 points and have a match against the no.1 team( World Test Champions) New Zealand with 126 points. If India wins the first test match in Kanpur, the Men in Blue will reassure their No. 1 spot.


  • India’s ICC test rankings is with 119 rating but they have the most points 2987. That’s how they are at No.2.
  • The ratings are the deciding factor for a particular team’s place in the ICC team rankings.
  • New Zealand is at the top, in present with 126 points.
  • India’s victory in the first Test will make India earn five rating points, on the other hand the Kiwis will lose many.
  • If India loses the first match, they will still have a chance to retain their place in the second Test in Mumbai.
  • However, if things go unwell in the second Test as well, Kane Williamson’s team will be again at the top.

The Indian team will arrive in Kanpur on Monday

Ajinkya Rahane is the skipper of this Test series in absence of Virat Kohli but he will be returning in Mumbai to lead the second Test match in Mumbai.

The entire Indian team will assemble in Kanpur on Monday.

Ajinkya Rahane will lead India in absence of Virat Kohli in the opening Test while Virat Kohli will return to captain India in the 2nd Test in Mumbai. Rohit Sharma has taken a break frpm this test tseies

- Advertisement -

New Zealand team will also be having back players like Kane Williamson, player Kyle Jamieson in the team. Both didn’t play in the T20 series to stay fresh for this series.

Rohit Sharma is flying back to Mumbai & has taken break from the test series.

India’s squad : Ajinkya Rahane (c), KL Rahul, Mayank Aggarwal , Cheteshwar Pujara (vc), Shubman Gill, S Iyer, Wriddiman Saha (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, J Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna.

New Zealand’s squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Henry Nicholls, Will Somerville, Tom Blundell, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Ross Taylor, Kyle Jamieson, Rachin Ravindra, Will Young, Tom Latham, Mitchell Santner, Neil Wagner.

Read more: ATP Finals 2021: Alexander Zverev ends the year with a 6-4, 6-4 victory to secure the year end title

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider


Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics

Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add technosports.co.in to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.