36.1 C

Top 5 football managers who have won the most Europa League trophies

The Europa League might be the second tier of European football, but it is much more unpredictable than the Champions League. 

Europa League: Managers that have won it the most number of times 

Only a few managers can say that they have been consistent in the tournament. And on that note, here are the top five managers with the most Europa League title wins. 

5. Diego Simeone 

Ez2RL6wWUAcBJSimeoneP Top 5 football managers who have won the most Europa League trophies

Simeone is one of the best managers of the modern era, and has become synonymous with Atletico Madrid. The Argentinian has led the Rojiblancos to two separate Europa League trophies. The first came in 2011/12 and the most recent was in 2017/18. 

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

4. Jose Mourinho 

The Special One has won the Champions League as well as the Europa League on multiple occasions. He lifted the UEFA Cup, as it was called back in the day, with Porto in 2002/03. The Portuguese manager also won the title with Manchester United in 2016/17 by defeating Ajax in the finals. 

3. Rafa Benitez 

The current Everton boss has won the Europa League twice. The first win came with Valencia in 2003/04, and nine years later, he won the trophy again with Chelsea. Benitez has also won the Champions League with Liverpool, placing him alongside the most successful European managers. 

2. Giovanni Trapattoni 

Trapattoni won the trophy three times back when it was called the UEFA Cup. He won the trophy twice with Juventus, and once with their rivals, Inter Milan. He is also responsible for helping Juventus win their only Champions League trophy in 1984/85. 

1. Unai Emery 

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

When Emery guided Villarreal to their first European trophy by defeating Manchester United 12-11 on penalties, he surpassed Trapattoni as the manager with the most Europa League titles. Unai Emery has won the trophy thrice with Sevilla. His three title wins came in consecutive seasons, 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Arsh Das
Arsh Das
A music enthusiast, also passionate about football and bringing you the latest in the sporting world every day.



Related Stories

More from author

Club record signing Tanguy Ndombele leaves Tottenham by mutual consent

Tanguy Ndombele has officially left Tottenham as a free agent, mutually terminating his contract which was set to run out in 2025. The midfielder...

Philippe Coutinho to terminate Aston Villa and return to Vasco da Gama

Philippe Coutinho will be available as a free agent this summer, after leaving Aston Villa. The Brazilian spent this past season on loan with...

Lionel Messi reveals plans to retire at Inter Miami in the near future

Lionel Messi has confirmed that Inter Miami will be his final professional club, before he retires from football. The Argentine made the move to...

Aleksandar Pavlovic replaced by Emre Can in Germany Euro 2024 squad

Germany have confirmed Aleksandar Pavlovic has withdrawn from their Euro 2024 squad, owing to a case of tonsillitis. The Bayern Munich midfielder was called...