Wednesday, February 8, 2023

ICC Announces Men’s T20I team of the year: Kohli in, Jos Buttler named captain

The ICC has announced its Men’s T20I team of the year 2022 for the annual cricket award function. The complete list of enlisted cricketers came to the limelight by the governing body on January 23rd. The list has exclusive names of the players who were consistent throughout the previous year in this limited-overs cricket.

Three Indian players included in the Men’s T20I team by ICC

Surya Kumar Yadav, who showed towering form last year, is unsurprisingly present on the list. Thanks to Virat Kohli’s magnanimous contribution last year that earned the contemporary great a place too in the squad. Star all-rounder Hardik Pandya has had a brilliant comeback to 22 yards and finds mention in the list. 

Hardik Surya 640 ICC Announces Men's T20I team of the year: Kohli in, Jos Buttler named captain

Kohli smashed 296 runs in the T20 world cup, the highest, including a sensational unbeaten 82 against Pakistan in a nail-biting encounter at the MCG. Surya Kumar Yadav had an amazing run last year, where he scored 1164 runs from 31 matches at a scintillating strike rate of 187.43 that, including two brilliant overseas centuries. 


Thus, three Indian players made their way into the T20I men’s team announced by ICC. Meanwhile, Pakistan skipper Babar Azam didn’t find a mention in the list due to his not-so-great performance in the 2022 Asia Cup and T20 World Cup.

Jos Buttler IPL 2022 Why Not Celebrate After An ICC Announces Men's T20I team of the year: Kohli in, Jos Buttler named captain

Jos Buttler was named captain

Quite easy to guess that Jos Buttler will be the leader of the squad after he helped his nation England lift their limited-overs World Cup trophy last year. Butler also had a great time with the bat, scoring at a strike rate of 160.41, scoring 462 runs. 

Mohammad Rizwan, who scored 10 half-centuries last year, is on the list. Sri Lanka leg spinner Wanindu Hasaranga, who finished as the highest wicket-taker in the T20 World Cup with 15 wickets, is on the list. All-rounder Sam Curran, who took 13 wickets and was the Man of the Tournament in the T20 World Cup, is on the list too. 

Here’s the full list for ICC T20I men’s team. 

Jos Buttler (c & wk), Mohammad Rizwan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Glenn Phillips, Sikandar Raja, Hardik Pandya, Sam Curran, Wanindu Hasaranga, Haris Rauf, Joshua Little.

Read More: WIPL 2023: Adani and Haldirams submit their technical bids; IPL teams like CSK and GT backed out

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Bitdefender WW

Stay Connected


Hot Topics


Latest Articles