Monday, February 6, 2023

BCCI’s considering a $50 million base price for WIPL; 5 IPL franchises have shown interest to buy teams in the league

The Women’s IPL is four months away from having its first-ever season, but BCCI hasn’t yet announced its full plan. The board is considering a base price of 400 crores, the same price which IPL had in its inaugural season in 2008. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings have their WIPL teams ready to pick up the tender documents and five other franchises show their interest in buying the teams.

In October, BCCI approved a total of five teams for WIPL. It also finalised a 22-match format for the pleasure. Though some already existing franchises of IPL showed interest in buying teams the stakeholders haven’t yet decided how they can distribute these franchises.

The IPL franchises that showed interest in acquiring the teams of WIPL are

  • Mumbai Indians
  • Chennai Super Kings
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Punjab Kings
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Delhi Capitals
  • Kolkata Knight Riders

“We will be interested in purchasing a Women’s IPL team once we get information on the due process. We have not received any intimation from BCCI so far.”– a CSK official said

WhatsApp Image 2022 11 24 at 8.13.24 PM 1 BCCI's considering a $50 million base price for WIPL; 5 IPL franchises have shown interest to buy teams in the league
Credits- InsideSport

BCCI will have to roll out a tender document to all the franchises who desire to buy teams. The base price will go up to $50 million, the same as that of Ipl’s inaugural season in 2008. The BCCI will be floating a tender that is going to be open to all interested parties. The BCCI will have a separate tender for the e-auction of the broadcast rights. Currently, the board is busy seeking the availability of leading women cricketers around the world. The reports suggest that the BCCI has started signing contracts with India and players from abroad that will lead to a final agreement. The players will be selected through a draft procedure. A total of four overseas players can be in a team and the squad size is 18.

The league will begin in the second week of March and end around march 23 before IPL begins. Unlike IPL it will give the caravan style with two and more cities hosting the games. The owners will be finalised by December

Read more: Top 7 Players with the highest T20 runs in a calendar year

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Bitdefender WW

Stay Connected


Hot Topics


Latest Articles