42.1 C

Bayer Leverkusen’s unbeaten run: Which other teams have gone unbeaten in a season?

Bayer Leverkusen recently joined three other historic teams to finish their domestic seasons unbeaten. Led by Xabi Alonso, Die Werkself won the Bundesliga title for the first time, dethroning Bayern Munich who had lifted the title for eleven straight years prior.

Alonso helped his side earn 90 points in the league out of a possible 102, playing out only six draws over the course of 34 games. His team played exciting attacking football, scoring 89 goals and conceding only 24.

The 3 other invincible teams in history alongside Bayer Leverkusen

AC Milan 1991/92

- Advertisement -TechnoSports-Ad

The Rossoneri finished the 91/92 season unbeaten, with the likes of Cudicini, Maldini, Gullit, Baresi, Van Basten and Carlo Ancelotti in the team. Their run extended till 1993, and they won the 91/92 Serie A title as well. Led by Fabio Capello, Milan went 58 games without defeat in total.

Arsenal 2003/04

henry Bayer Leverkusen's unbeaten run: Which other teams have gone unbeaten in a season?
LONDON – FEBRUARY 10: Thierry Henry of Arsenal celebrates scoring his 100th Premiership goal and Arsenal’s first goal during the FA Barclaycard Premiership match between Arsenal and Southampton at Highbury on February 10, 2004 in London. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images) *** Local Caption *** Thierry Henry

The Gunners remain the only team in England to have won the Premier League title unbeaten. The Invincibles of 2004 received a gold trophy for finishing the season without a single league defeat, earning 90 points in 38 games.

Juventus 2011/12

Under Antonio Conte, Juventus embarked on an unbeaten run throughout the Serie A season that helped them establish their dominance in the league for years to come. And in the process, they became the first to achieve the feat in a 20-team Serie A season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Arsh Das
Arsh Das
A music enthusiast, also passionate about football and bringing you the latest in the sporting world every day.



Related Stories

More from author

Official: Roberto De Zerbi to join Marseille till 2027

Roberto De Zerbi is all set to join Marseille as their new head coach. The former Brighton manager has agreed to a contract till...

Euro 2024 Group B Results: Spain win, Italy snatch late draw to break Croatian hearts

The final round of matches for Group B in Euro 2024 played out to a conclusion with Spain finishing with three wins out of...

Top 10 Most Valuable Football Clubs in the World

Forbes has recently published the ranking of the most valuable soccer clubs in 2023, showcasing some of the prominent European teams. The renowned Big...

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: India defeat Australia by 24 runs with Rohit and Arshdeep starring in key roles

India have defeated Australia by 24 runs in their second Super 8 match at the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. Rohit Sharma led from the...