Sunday, January 29, 2023

India vs Bangladesh Test: Jayadev Unadkat got ruled out, and Shubman Gill’s inclusion in the team is doubtful due to injury

- Advertisement -

Jayadev Unadkat who got an opportunity to play for the national team after twelve years, won’t be able to be a part of the team due to visa issues. Shardul Thakur replaced him. His debut was back in 2010, and the last time he was part of the squad was in 2018 against Bangladesh in the Nidahas trophy. The BCCI logistics couldn’t arrange his VISA on time as he was yet to receive his visa squad. However, he can join the squad for the second Test.

Credits- Cricket Addictor

He played a Test in 2010 against South Africa in the Centurion. He has been a part of seven ODIs and 10 T20Is but never got a chance to play for Tests. he was chosen to replace Shami based on his current form. He scalped 19 wickets in 10 games in the Vijay Hazare Trophy and finished as the tournament’s top wicket-taker.

On the other hand, Team India’s curse for injuries is too real. After Rohit Sharma, youngster Shubman Gill suffered an injury in his hand. He was supposed to open the innings in place of skipper Rohit Sharma.


He consulted a physiotherapist who had dressed Gill’s palm with a heavy bandage. Indian skipper Rohit Sharma suffered from a split webbing and a thumb dislocation that ruled him out from the game.

Credits- Cricket Addictor

The fitness concerns of the men in blue are real. Along with Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah are also not playing due to injury. Abhimanyu Easwaran got called by KL Rahul and Rahul Dravid as the cricketer from Bengal led India-A to a 1-0 victory against Bangladesh in the beginning of 2022. He mustered two centuries in a row in the top order.

Test Squad

KL Rahul (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara (VC), Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (WK), KS Bharat (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat

Read more: World Test Championship race explained: Possibility of each team qualifying for the WTC Finals

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related Articles

Bitdefender WW

Stay Connected


Hot Topics


Latest Articles