Sunday, May 29, 2022

Top 5 most successful captains in the history of IPL

- Advertisement -

IPL ‘s 15th edition is going to commence on March 26. A lot of emotions have been attached to this tournament. Indians wait for IPL every year to support their favourite teams. Sometimes they exceed the expectations and other times they underperform A skipper’s role is very significant in a sport like cricket though it is very difficult to lead a team in such a huge tournament. There have been some players who have enjoyed a long-term captaincy role due to their consistent performance.

This article lists the top 5 most successful skippers in the history of IPL.

1. Rohit Sharma 60.34

362c3e0a f8ac 11ea b206 fe77f4f0660e
Credits- Hindustan Times

Rohit Sharma is the most successful skipper in the history of IPL with 5 trophies and 8 years of experience as a skipper. Under his captaincy, the team has won 60% of matches. He has led the team in 116 IPL games and won 70 of them. Rohit was Mumbai’s skipper in their successful championships in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, and 2020.      

2. Steve Smith 59.52

vivo ipl 2017 the final rps mi 5d07b9aa 3e60 11e7 99bd b9a47f5fadca
Credits- Hindustan Times

Steve Smith has come out as a very successful skipper in both T20 leagues and international cricket. he played an excellent role in the Pune franchise replacing MS Dhoni and also led Rajasthan Royals in a lot of seasons. Under his captaincy in a total of 42 matches, the team won 25.

3. Sachin Tendulkar  58.82 

Sachin responds strongly on conflict of interest issue
Credits- InsideSport
- Advertisement -

Sachin Tendulkar was never known as a captain in International cricket but in Mumbai Indians, he did he very good job. Under his captaincy, Mumbai Indians reached 2010’s finale where they got beaten by CSK. Out of 51 matches, his team won 30 with a win percentage of 58.82.

4. MS Dhoni 58.82

Dhoni Asks CSK To Reduce His Salary 1200x900 61a1cb5fa58ea
Credits- MenXP

MS Dhoni is the only player in IPL who’s been leading the team since 2008. Under his captaincy, the CSK won the finale four times in the years 2010, 2011 and 2018 and 2021. He has led the team in 188 matches and has won 110 of them, the winning percentage being 58.82

5. Cameron White – 58.33

Cameron White

In his IPL Career, Cameron played for RCB, Deccan Chargers and Sunrisers Hyderabad. He replaced Kumar Sangakara in DC in IPL 2012. In the very next season, he was made the skipper of SRH. Out of 12 matches, his team won 7, making a victory percentage of 58.33.

Read more: India vs New Zealand ICC Women’s World Cup 2022: NZ won over IND by 62 runs


- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider

Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics


Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.