Sunday, May 29, 2022

Scorchers Take the BBL Trophy Home for the Fourth Time in a Row

- Advertisement -

Known for its fierce sportsmanship and team spirit, the Big Bash League, powered by KFC is a professional Twenty-Twenty cricket tournament in Australia that has been going on for over a decade now. Abbreviated as the BBL, the Big Bash League works in a way where there are four playoffs that are played among the best four teams in the league (based on their performance of the prior year). These teams are awarded around two points every time they emerge victorious in a game, and the team with the maximum number of wins gets a position at the head of the table and gets to compete with the top three teams of the prior year.

The five teams which stand at the bottom of the chart are eliminated from the League, and the team with the highest ranking has the advantage of playing in their home ground.

Official Teams of the League


Currently, there are eight team squads playing in the Big Bash League, and we will learn all about them in the following listicle:

  1. Adelaide Strikers: This squad has Jason Gillespie as their coach, with captain Travis Head, and incredible players such as Ian Cockbain (plays overseas), Alex Carey, Rashid Khan, Matt Short and so on.
  1. Brisbane Heat: Wade Seccombe’s team, captained by Jimmy Pierson, houses amazing opening strikers such as Tom Abell, Ben Duckett, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Fakhar Zaman who replaced Tom Abell.
  1. Hobart Hurricanes: Hobart Hurricanes has a fierce Adam Griffith as their coach, with an equally daunting captain in Matthew Wade and players like Harry Brook, Sandeep Lamichande and Jordan Thompson as their opening strikers.
  1. Melbourne Renegades: David Saker’s team houses Cameron Boyce, Unmukt Chand, Aaron Finch, Zak Evans, with Nic Maddinson as the captain.
  1. Melbourne Stars: Melbourne Stars have a Star-studded squad, much like their name. Coached by David Hussey, the team has Glenn Maxwell, Hilton Cartwright, Lachie Bangs, Andre Russell, Adam Zampa and so on.
  1. Perth Scorchers: Dubbed as one of the best teams to have won a hattrick, the Perth Scorchers, coached by Adam Voges house players like Laurie Evans, Aaron Hardie, Cameron Bancroft, Ashton Agar and so on.
  1. Sydney Sixers: The Sydney Sixers are coached by Greg Shipperd and have players such as Sean Abbott, Stephen O’ Keefe, Tom Curran, Hayder Kerr, Dan Christian, Lawrence Neil Smith (as a replacement for Jackson Bird), among others.
  1. Sydney Thunder: Coached by Trevor Bayliss, the team is composed of famous names such as Jonathan Cook, Ben Cutting, Alex Ross, Daniel Sams, Tanveer Sangha, Chris Treman among others.

Everything You Need to Know about the BBL 2021-2022

The Big Bash League for 2021-2022 concluded with its finals on the 28th of January, 2022, and like us, a huge number of people who are active on were super excited for the finals. The Perth Scorchers took the trophy home yet again, making it their fourth win at the Big Bash League, with a whopping 171 for 6 in twenty overs.

BBL Scores at a Glance

In the Scorchers innings, the notable performances in the final included Laurie Evans with the bat (76*) and Ashton Turner with a quick-fire half-century (54). With the ball for the Sixers was Nathan Lyon with an economical set of overs and a couple of wickets (2-24),  and Steve O’Keefe (2-43). The Perth Scorchers beat the Sixers by bowling them out for a lowly 92 in 16.2 overs. In the Sixers innings, it was only Daniel Hughes who made any runs (42), and Jhye Richardson (2-20) and Andrew Tye (3-15) were handy with the ball to win by 79 runs.

In-Depth Commentary on the BBL Finals

- Advertisement -

Evans, along with Turner began batting, followed by rather analytic gameplay as the Perth Scorchers beat the Sydney Sixers with a margin of 79 runs, emerging victorious for the fourth time in a row. After a slow start for the Scorchers with the bat, the recovery came with a fifth-wicket stand of 104 runs – helping them get to their winning score of 171/6. The Scorchers also smashed 24 in the super overs of 13 and 14. Notwithstanding Turner’s dismissal by O’Keefe, the team pulled together, leading them ultimately to the big total and ultimately to their fourth trophy in a row!

The Sixers had hoped to have a phenomenal performance with their best players in the team; however, Hayden Kerr fell short of his usual spunk as he was out by the second over by Jason Behrendorff. Kerr was expected to have a good game, especially after their match with the Adelaide Strikers where he had an unbeaten 98, propelling the team to the finals. Opener Daniel Hughes and Bertus, in at 3, tried to form a partnership but this was broken by the brilliant Turner with the total standing on 27 runs.

The Sixers never really recovered from the early wickets and struggled to form any meaningful partnerships that might help them chase down the Scorchers total. Every single bowler in the Scorchers lineup had an economy rate of 6 or less, which sums up the brilliant bowling performance to back up Turner and Evans with the bat.

Read: The 3 new rules which will be introduced in Big Bash League from this season

- Advertisement -
Rahul Roy
Rahul Roy
I am a computer guy by profession and a sports fanatic by choice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider

Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics


Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.