Sunday, May 29, 2022
728x90-1

India vs South Africa DRS controversy: What actually happened?

- Advertisement -

The Host broadcaster SuperSport on Friday said that it had zero control over the Decision Review System (DRS) used in the Test series between South Africa and India.

The match-referee for the 3rd test was Andy Pycroft has warned team India for the rant they did against the broadcaster but without sanctioning them.

SA vs India test series

Apparently, in the South African media, the broadcaster is not very happy with the Indian team’s antics. The broadcaster said “SuperSport notes comments made by certain members of the Indian cricket team.

“Hawk-Eye is an independent service provider, approved by the ICC and their technology has been accepted for many years as an integral part of DRS.

“SuperSport does not have any control over the Hawk-Eye technology.”

728x90-1

The members of the Indian team had reacted in an unexpected way on Thursday when a leg before wicket decision against South African captain Dean Elgar got overturned. Indian players complained about the decision and also believed that the broadcaster manipulated the technology.

SA and India DRS contoversy

The South African media reported that the Indian team was warned by match referee Andy Pycroft of the third test in Cape Town.

According to a report by TimesLIVE, the referee told the Indian team management that the behaviour of players was unexpected and it could attract sanctions if it is repeated again. Indian skipper Virat Kohli didn’t open his mouth about this incident even when asked about it during the post- Test press conference on Friday.

- Advertisement -

“I have no comment to make. I understood what happened on the field and people on the outside don’t know exactly what goes on the field. So for me to try and justify what we did on the field and say ‘we got carried away… If we would have charged up and picked up three wickets there, that could have been probably the moment that could change the game.”

The controversy explained

This incident occurred in the 21st over of the innings, bowled by Ashwin. The spinner bowled a tossed-up theory and it drifted in, beat Elgar on the inside edge and the ball struck in front of the stumps and the umpire Marais Erasmus raised his finger.

KL Rahul, skipper Virat Kohli and spinner Ravichandran Ashwin had given some reactions uncalled for. The review was replayed and it showed that the ball went over the stumps and the decision was overturned.

Read more: Virat Kohli steps down from India’s Test captaincy role


- Advertisement -
spot_img

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider

Stay Connected

13,642FansLike
62FollowersFollow
155FollowersFollow
Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics

spot_img

Latest Articles

Trending

Featured

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add technosports.co.in to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.

×