Thursday, December 9, 2021

India vs New Zealand – 1st T20I: India wins by 5 wickets

- Advertisement -

India won the match against New Zealand and thus took a 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series. The team won by five wickets in Jaipur. The situation became a bit tricky after Trent Boult’s dismissals of Rohit Sharma (48) and Suryakumar Yadav (62) in back-to-back overs. Rishabh Pant eventually took India past the finishing line in the final over the best batters got out. Martin Guptill (70) and Mark Champan (63) helped New Zealand reach a total of 164/6.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma had won the toss and decided to bowl first. India scored just 14 runs in three overs between 17-19. Rishabh Pant’s performance actually helped the team achieve the victory.

KL Rahul got out at 15 runs. Rohit Sharma scored 48 runs and Suryakumar Yadav made 62.

Daryl Mitchell, the middle order batter opened New Zealand’s T20 side. Venkastesh Iyer who generally opens the batting for KKR made his India debut, didn’t get to bowl but walked in at 6. When Venkatesh was batting, India was on the verge of losing the game. New Zealand sent Mitchell to bowl.

Venkatesh swatted the first legal ball, scored four runs for the team but eventually, he was dismissed off the next ball as he tried reverse-lap. Mitchell got the wicket and it came down to 3 off 3. Rishabh Pant who made 13 runs in 16 balls stepped out and got a boundary.

Mark Champman, Martin Guptill and Suryakumar Yadav made the 50s. Rohit Sharma made 48 runs full of vintage strokeplay.

- Advertisement -

Bhuveneshwar Kumar, R Ashwin and Mitchell Satner did terrific bowling that the India team needed so bad.

It is the first international game played in India since the second wave of Covid-19 and India took the lead 1-0.

India’s squad

Playing – Rohit Sharma(c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Venkatesh Iyer, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Mohammad Siraj.

New Zealand’s squad

Playing- Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Philips, Tim Seifer, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Satner, Tim Southee(c), Todd Astle, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.

Read more: Top 5 things Rahul Dravid wants from the Indian cricket team

- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider


Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics


Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.