Friday, May 20, 2022

PFA Awards: winners announced!

- Advertisement -

The Professional Footballers’ Association announced its annual award winners on Monday evening. We’ll cover the recipients of all the winners and team of the year here.

PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Liverpool captain Jordan Henderson managed to bag the Football Writer’s Player of the Year award earlier this year. However, it was Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne who was presented the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award.


De Bruyne was undoubtedly the most deserving candidate out of the six nominees for the award. His record-matching 20 assists and 13 goals in the 2019/20 season cemented his claim as one of, if not the best midfielder in the world.

In addition, the amount of impact that the Belgian has on City’s game is enough to call him their most important player. To conclude, De Bruyne is one of the most well-deserved awardees of the campaign gone by.

PFA Young Player of the Year

While deciding a winner of the Young Player of the Year award was much harder, it is Trent Alexander-Arnold who has come out on top for the second consecutive year.

- Advertisement -

Though Mason Greenwood provided the strongest competition to TAA for the award, it is hard to look past the merit of the right-back. To sum it all up, Trent Alexander-Arnold is the best right back in the world right now and he is only 21.

PFA Merit Award

Marcus Rashford is the recipient of the 2019/21 PFA Merit Award. The Manchester United forward has been actively involved in fighting child poverty, and the effort has been well rewarded by the PFA.

Here is what the forward had to say about it:

PFA Team of the Year

This year’s XI sees strong participation from Premier League champions, Liverpool. The 11 include Sadio Mane, Andy Robertson, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Virgil Van Dijk, and skipper Jordan Henderson. To put that into perspective, 5 of the 11 in the team of the year are from Liverpool.

David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne of runners-up Manchester City join Henderson in midfield.

Golden Boot Winner Jamie Vardy and Caglar Soyuncu represent Leicester in the 11 whereas Pierre Emerick Aubameyang is the sole member of the Arsenal squad in the 11.

Standing in goal is Burnley’s shotstopper, Nick Pope. Have a look at the team outline below:

This PFA team of the year for PL looks great and well balanced, so what’s your take on the players chosen for the awards tell us in the comments down below…😉

Do check out:

- Advertisement -
Arsh Das
Arsh Das
A music enthusiast, also passionate about football and bringing you the latest in the sporting world every day.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider

Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics


Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.