Thibaut Courtois wins the Zamora trophy for conceding the fewest goals in LaLiga

- Advertisement -JBL

Real Madrid has won the 2019-20 LaLiga trophy after a winning run of 10 games after the season resumed. It is their 34th LaLiga trophy and their first since 2017.

Zidane prioritised winning the LaLiga this season and he has kept his promise. Real Madrid was vulnerable at the back in their disastrous 2018-19 campaign. So, Zidane improved the backline bringing in Ferland Mendy to provided more backup in the left-back role.

Ramos and Varane formed arguably the best centre-back duo and Carvajal and Marcelo or Mendy provided able support. But the most improved of the lot was the Belgian keeper. He has been a strong figure under the bars. He has shown that he is one of the best goalkeepers right now.

Thibaut Courtois has won the Zamora trophy for the 2019-20 LaLiga season for his outstanding form.

The Zamora Trophy is an annual award for the LaLiga goalkeepers with the lowest goal-to-games ratio at the end of each season. The award is given out by the sports magazine Marca and it is named after the famous Spanish goalkeeper Ricardo Zamora.

The rule for the Zamora award is that the winning goalkeeper had to play at least twenty-eight matches in the league season and at least 60 minutes in each match.

- Advertisement -

Thibaut Courtois has conceded 20 goals in 34 matches with an average of 0.59 goals per game. This is the fewest in LaLiga, ahead of Atletico Madrid’s Jan Oblak, Athletic Bilbao’s Unai Simon and Barcelona’s Andre Ter-Stegen. Courtois has also kept 18 clean sheets this season in LaLiga which is also the highest among all the goalkeepers in the Spanish top-flight.

Real Madrid has published an official statement: “Thibaut Courtois has ended the league campaign by winning the Zamora Trophy, which is awarded to the goalkeeper with the least number of goals conceded in the league season. The goalkeeper, one of Real Madrid’s key players in the title-winning side, has conceded 20 goals in 34 league matches, giving him the best goals per game ratio (0.59), ahead of Oblak and Unai Simon.”

“The Belgian goalkeeper, who kept 18 clean sheets in LaLiga, joins the historical list of Madridistas who have won the Zamora Trophy, led by Vicente (3). After that come, Zamora, Betancort and Buyo with two. And with one each Casillas, Agustin, Miguel Angel, Junquera, Araquistain, Juan Alonso and Banon.”

This is the third time Courtois has won the Zamora trophy, having already won it in the 2012-13 and 2013-14 seasons with Atletico Madrid. He has become the first goalkeeper in history to win the Zamora trophy with both Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid.

Do check out:

All the latest 2019-20 kits of football teams from all over the world are now available on Tech2Sports. Superior quality kits at the lowest price guaranteed. Show your support for your favourite club and country by wearing their colours.

If you’re a Real Madrid fan, then check this out:
1. Home kit
2. Home Kit (Full Sleeve)
3. Away kit
4. 3rd kit
5. Mobile Cover

- Advertisement -
Rahul Roy
I am a computer guy by profession and a sports fanatic by choice.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More To Consider


Stay Connected

Boat Lifestyle [CPS] IN

Hot Topics

Latest Articles



Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.