The Solidarity Cup will be the showcase event for the new cricket format ‘3 Team Cricket‘. This match will see 24 South African cricketers in three teams, playing two halves in one match.

The three teams competing in the Solidarity Cup are:

  • Takealot Eagles captained by AB de Villiers
  • OUTsurance Kingfishers captained by Heinrich Klaasen
  • Mr D Food Kites captained by Quinton de Kock

The match will be held on 18th July at 2:30 pm IST.

Rules of this new format – 3TCricket

  • This new format ‘3TCricket’ will have 36 overs in total divided into two halves of 18 overs each.
  • In the first half, each of the three teams will face 6 overs from one of their opponents.
  • In the second half, each of the three teams will once again resume batting and face another 6 overs from their other opponent.
  • The team with the most runs will win gold, the second team will win silver and the third will get bronze.
  • Each team will consist of 8 players.
  • There is also the last man standing rule whereby the last remaining batsman will continue batting even without a batting partner. But he can only score in boundaries and twos since retaining the strike is non-negotiable.

The squads for Solidarity Cup – 3TCricket

Mr D Food Kites

  • Quinton De Kock (captain)
  • Temba Bavuma
  • Jon-Jon Smuts
  • David Miller
  • Dwaine Pretorius
  • Lutho Sipamla
  • Beuran Hendricks
  • Anrich Nortje

Coach: Wandile Gwavu

OUTsurance Kingfishers

  • Heinrich Klaasen (captain)
  • Reeza Hendricks
  • Janneman Malan
  • Faf du Plessis
  • Thando Ntini
  • Gerald Coetzee
  • Glenton Stuurman
  • Tabraiz Shamsi

Coach: Mignon du Preez

Takealot Eagles

  • AB de Villiers (captain)
  • Aiden Markram
  • Rassie van der Dussen
  • Kyle Verreynne
  • Andile Phehlukwayo
  • Bjorn Fortuin
  • Junior Dala
  • Lungi Ngidi

Coach: Geoffrey Toyana

If you’re from the Indian sub-continent you can catch all the live action of the Solidarity Cup as well as the pre and post-match shows on Star Sports 1, Star Sports 1 HD, Star Sports 2, Star Sports 2 HD in both Hindi and English.

Star Sports will start telecasting all the live action from the Solidarity Cup from 2:00 PM and will go on till 7:00 PM on 18th July.

Do check out:

All the latest 2019-20 kits of football teams from all over the world are now available on Tech2Sports. Superior quality kits at the lowest price guaranteed. Show your support for your favourite club and country by wearing their colours.

Firework Videos