Top 10 countries with the highest no of Ballon d’Or wins until 2020

The Ballon d’Or is arguably the most prestigious individual award for football players. It is an annual football award presented by French news magazine France Football.

France Football first started to give this award in 1956, but initially, only European footballers were considered for this prestigious award. Maradona and Pele, regarded by many as the best footballers never got a chance to win the award. But from 1995, France Football decided to consider non-European footballers for this award.

Do you know which country has the highest no of Ballon d’Or wins until July 2020? Check out the list below:

Lev Yashin

10. USSR

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 3
2nd place: 0
3rd place: 0

- Advertisement -720x200

Winners: Lev Yashin (1963), Oleg Blokhine (1975), Igor Belanov (1986)

Alfredo Di Stefano

9. Spain

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 3
2nd place: 5
3rd place: 9

Winners: Alfredo Di Stefano (1957,1959), Luis Suarez (1960)


8. Brazil

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 5
2nd place: 2
3rd place: 4

Winners: Ronaldo (1997, 2002), Rivaldo (1999), Ronaldinho (2005), Kaka (2007)

Fabio Cannavaro

7. Italy

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 5
2nd place: 9
3rd place: 3

Winners: Omar Sivori (1961), Gianni Rivera (1969), Paolo Rossi (1982), Roberto Baggio (1993), Fabio Cannavaro (2006)

Kevin Keegan

6. England

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 5
2nd place: 8
3rd place: 5

Winners: Stanley Matthews (1956), Bobby Charlton (1966), Kevin Keegan (1978, 1979), Michael Owen (2001)

Lionel Messi

5. Argentina

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 6
2nd place: 5
3rd place: 1

Winners: Lionel Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019)

Michel Platini

4. France

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 6
2nd place: 5
3rd place: 11

Winners: Raymond Kopa (1958), Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985), Jean-Pierre Papin (1991), Zinedine Zidane (1998)

Johan Cruyff

3. Netherlands

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 7
2nd place: 4
3rd place: 6

Winners: Johan Cruyff (1971, 1973, 1974), Ruud Gullit (1987), Marco van Basten (1988, 1989, 1992)

Cristiano Ronaldo

2. Portugal

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 7
2nd place: 10
3rd place: 1

Winners: Eusebio (1965), Luis Figo (2000), Cristiano Ronaldo (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

Franz Beckenbaur

1. Germany

Ballon d’Or
Wins: 7
2nd place: 10
3rd place: 11

Winners: Gerd Muller (1970), Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976), Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (1980, 1981), Lothar Matthaus (1990), Matthias Sammer (1996)

If Maradona and Pele had the chance the to win Ballon d’Ors during their time, Argentina and Brazil would have definitely been the top 2 countries.

Source: Oh My Goal

Do check out:

All the latest 2019-20 kits of football teams from all over the world are now available on Tech2Sports. Superior quality kits at the lowest price guaranteed. Show your support for your favourite club and country by wearing their colours.

Rahul Roy
I am a computer guy by profession and a sports fanatic by choice.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Hot Topics


Latest Articles


Noise Buds Solo with Hybrid Active Noise Cancellation is launching on 24th February

Noise is all set to Buds Solo truly wireless earbuds to the Indian market. Till now, the company has a portfolio containing wireless earbuds...

Real Madrid players get their hands on the new Audi cars

Real Madrid are one of the biggest clubs in the world. They have multiple sponsors from various categories. Emirates are their official kit sponsor...

Top 10 most expensive trophies in the world in 2020

Winning a trophy means a lot to any club or player! The importance of winning a trophy cannot be measured by money. But which trophy...

Top 10 most valuable player in the world in 2021

Transfer window has reopened for the month of January already. CIES Football Observatory has released the list of most expensive players of the world. Here...