Tuesday, August 16, 2022

Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium: The largest cricket stadium in the world

- Advertisement -

The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) in Australia is one of the most iconic cricket stadiums in the world. But it isn’t the largest cricket stadium any more! Do you know which is the world’s largest cricket stadium?

The largest cricket stadium is the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium or commonly known as the Motera stadium. It is situated in Ahmedabad, Gujrat in India. This is an unknown fact for many as this stadium isn’t as famous as the MCG, Lords, Wankhede or Eden Gardens. Moreover, it got its tag of being the largest cricket stadium in the world as recently as in February 2020.


The Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel Stadium has a seating capacity of 1.10 lakhs while the Melbourne Cricket Ground has a seating capacity of 1.02 lakhs. It is the world’s biggest cricket stadium and the second biggest sports stadium. It is owned by the Gujarat Cricket Association and is a venue for Test, ODI, and T20I cricket matches.

In 1982, the government of Gujarat donated land on the banks of the Sabarmati River. The stadium was constructed in 1983 and was first renovated in 2006. The old Motera stadium was closed was demolished in 2015. The new Motera stadium was completely rebuilt by February 2020, with an estimated cost of around Rs. 800 crores. Since it’s completion, it is the largest cricket stadium in the world. The proposal of a larger stadium with a larger capacity was initiated by Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

motera 3

The Motera stadium that is spread out across over 64 acres has three entrances. It has 76 air-conditioned corporate boxes with a capacity of 25 each, an Olympic size swimming pool and 4 rooms, a parking area which may accommodate around 3000 automobiles and 10,000 two-wheelers. The stadium also has a clubhouse with 55 rooms, a gymnasium, indoor training grounds and food courts. The Motera stadium has no floodlights instead LED lights are being installed on the roof.

The stadium has hosted 12 Tests, 23 ODIs, and 1 T20Is matches since its inauguration in 1983. The new Motera stadium hosted the opening of “Namaste Trump”, the inaugural visit of US President Donald Trump on 24th February 2020.

Do check out:

- Advertisement -
Rahul Roy
Rahul Roy
I am a computer guy by profession and a sports fanatic by choice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

Bitdefender WW

More To Consider

Stay Connected

Ajio [CPS] IN

Hot Topics


Latest Articles


Bigrock [CPS] IN


Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add technosports.co.in to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.

%d bloggers like this: