Playing XI:-

  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Virat Kohli(c)
  • Ambati Rayudu
  • Vijay Shankar
  • Kedar Jadhav
  • MS Dhoni(wk)
  • Ravindra Jadeja
  • Kuldeep Yadav
  • Mohammed Shami
  • Jasprit Bumrah


Playing XI:-

  • Usman Khawaja
  • Aaron Finch(c)
  • Shaun Marsh
  • Peter Handscomb
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Alex Carey(wk)
  • Nathan Coulter-Nile
  • Pat Cummins
  • Nathan Lyon
  • Adam Zampa

India was bowled out for 250 after they were put to bat first by the Australian skipper. Kohli scored 116. Kuldeep took 3 wickets for 54. India won by eight runs after Australia was bowled out in the 49th over.

Virat Kohli scored his 40th ODI century. Kohli is only 9 century short of breaking Sachin Tendulkar’s record of most number of odi century(49).

A collective failure of Australian nerve saw India take a stranglehold of the ODI series in Nagpur, after the visitors found a way to lose despite needing only 33 from 34 balls with five wickets in hand at one point.

On a dry, slow Nagpur pitch that had always seemed likely to aid the team bowling second, the Australians wrestled gamely with India for most of the match in the face of Kohli’s brilliance and the wiles of Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav and Kedar Jadhav.

Bumrah was once again supreme, critically claiming two wickets for just one run in the 46th over of the innings and then cornering Stoinis into playing out another over worth one in the 48th, while Kuldeep’s three wickets counterbalanced greater expense than usual. They set things up for Vijay Shankar to take the final two wickets while defending 11 off the last over.

India had lost Rohit Sharma in the first over and regular wickets for much of their innings, but Kohli found enough support from the likes of Vijay and Ravindra Jadeja to take his side to a defendable tally in hot weather.

Occupying 120 balls, Kohli’s 116 took him into equal second place with Rohit Sharma behind Sachin Tendulkar’s nine for the most 50-over centuries against Australia with seven apiece.

Pat Cummins was Australia’s outstanding bowler with four wickets and considerable economy, while Nathan Lyon was also more than useful on his recall to the team.

This win in Nagpur brought up the 500th odi win.

India’s milestone ODI wins:
1st: 10 wkts vs East Africa, 1975
100th: 43 runs vs SA, Mohali, 1993
200th: 8 wkts vs Ken, Nairobi, 2000
300th: 20 runs vs WI, Cuttack, 2007
400th: 6 wkts vs SL, Colombo RPS, 2012
500th: 8 runs vs Aus, Nagpur, 2019

Virat Kohli was awarded with the Man of the Match award. He broke a record of winning man of the match award. Kohli surpassed Ganguly who had 31 awards.

Most MoM awards in ODIs (India):
62 S Tendulkar (463 ODIs)
32 V KOHLI (224)
31 S Ganguly (308)
27 Yuvraj Singh (301)
23 V Sehwag (241)
20 MS Dhoni (337)

After the Champions Trophy 2017 India has the record of bowling out the opponents for the most number of times.

Bowling out opponents most times in ODIs post CT 2017:
22/50 India
14/25 Afghanistan
13/30 New Zealand
12/28 Pakistan
11/26 South Africa
10/31 England

The next match in at Ranchi on 8th March. India will look forward to clinch the series, as they are leading by 2-0.

Do check out: